Improving the Testing Process with TPI Next

Improving the Testing Process with TPI Next

The TPI Next model defines 16 key areas, each of which covers a specific aspect of the test process, such as test strategy, metrics, test tools, and test environment.

Four maturity levels are defined in the model:

  • Initial
  • Controlled
  • Efficient
  • Optimizing

Specific checkpoints are defined to assess each key area at each of the maturity levels. Findings are summarized and visualized by means of a maturity matrix which covers all key areas. The definition of improvement objectives and their implementation can be tailored according to the needs and capacity of the testing organization.

The generic approach makes TPI Next independent of any software process improvement model. It covers both the test engineering aspects as well as support for managerial decision making.

For more information on TPI Next, see